oatmeal nut chocolate chunk cookies

stack of cookies It’s been coming on for a while, spurred on by the daily grind of schoolwork, college apps, swimming, extracurriculars, sleep deprivation, etc. but I might have finally reached the point of providing empirical evidence that I’m losing my mind. The latest exhibit: I’ve been searching for this ragged around the edges, butter-stained recipe for these delightful oatmeal nut chocolate cookies the last hour-ish, and it is nowhere to be found. I’ve checked the usual suspects: my disheveled stack of the printed web recipes from the last oh, about 2 years; my mom’s binder of recipes that mine sometimes suspiciously end up in (theft?! …or maybe just cleaning up); and my disheveled corner of the office desk, all to no avail.
freshly bakedgolden brown edges oatmeal nut chocolate chunk cookies ‘Tis a shame, because these are too good to keep from you any longer. Taking a cue from adjectives for rocks and cliffs, I’d say craggy is a good way to describe these oatmeal, walnut (or peanut or any other nut, to your preference), and chocolate-chunk studded cookies. This may be the closest I’ve ever come to posting a gluten-free cookie recipe, since the structure comes from oatmeal (2 cups) and chopped nuts (2 cups) instead of our usual friend flour (here, it’s only 1/3 cup whole-wheat, although you could use all-purpose). As a result, the cookies are prone to spreading while baking to become light and thin, yet still chewy and hearty. There’s a hint of peanut butter, which you can accentuate using chopped peanuts too, although I opted for (or was forced to opt for, due to a lack of nut provisions) roughly chopped walnuts. To add to the texture, I used chopped  milk chocolate, which gets melty and gooey and messily perfect in the oven, and bittersweet chocolate chunks.
overhead stack I’ve procured the online, clean, sanitary version via Ms. Stewart, yet it unfortunately contains none of my messy penciled-in notes as on the dingy tangible copy. So I’ve tried to recall the exact substitutions I made–using the meager 1/2ish cup of peanuts and then chopped walnuts for the remainder, chopped milk chocolate, bittersweet chunks–and for now, that’s the most I can remember. Clearly, some spring cleaning is needed. When I find my mind the recipe, I’ll update what I have below if needed.
craggy and crumbly Update: The recipe was found! (Thanks, Mom.) I’ve noted the changes I discovered on the hard copy: I also increased the salt to 1 teaspoon, upped the vanilla to 2 teaspoons, and used an even mix of milk and bittersweet chocolate. 

Oatmeal Nut Chocolate Chunk Cookies
adapted from Martha Stewart

I subbed walnuts for most of the peanuts and used chopped milk chocolate and bittersweet chocolate chunks instead of semisweet chips.

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 large eggs
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups roughly chopped walnuts or  salted peanuts
2 cups chopped bittersweet chocolate or semisweet chocolate chips*

Preheat oven to 350° F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, stir together oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream sugars, butter, and peanut butter on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 5 minutes. (Resist the temptation to stop early- the lightness here makes for great texture in the cookie.) Mix in eggs and vanilla.

Reduce speed to low. Add oat mixture, and mix until just combined. Stir in  the nuts and chocolate.

Drop balls of dough 2 inches apart on baking sheets. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until golden brown and just set, 13 to 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Storing: Cookies can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 5 days. Or, freeze the dough and bake as needed, adding a couple minutes to the baking time.

*I used some milk chocolate as well, about 1 cup. Don’t use all milk chocolate, as the bittersweet/semisweet mix provides a good balance of sweetness.

One response to “oatmeal nut chocolate chunk cookies

  1. Ok, dear. It took me about 10 minutes this morning to find your beloved (edited) recipe. And you are not losing your mind since your substitutions were pretty close.

Leave a Reply

